Williamsburg Traffic Violations Attorney
Competent & Results-Driven Legal Support in James City County & Beyond
If you have received a traffic ticket in Williamsburg or elsewhere in James City County, you should be aware that paying it is an admission of guilt. As in any case that involves allegedly breaking the law, you are entitled to your day in court. At Woodmere Law, P.L.L.C. we can help you fight back with legal representation that can make a difference in how your case is decided. Our Williamsburg traffic ticket and violations lawyer can use more than a decade of legal experience on your behalf in court.
Connect with us to arrange for a consultation about your case; call (757) 300-0309 or contact us online today.
How Much Does Insurance go up After a Speeding Ticket?
Car insurance rates typically increase by 25% after a speeding ticket. On average, a driver with a speeding ticket will pay $1,781 a year for full coverage auto insurance. The increase of your car insurance will also vary by the state and by insurance company. Car insurance rates can go increase much more significantly if you are with Liberty Mutual, Progressive, Farmers, so make sure to shop around for car insurance rates to determine which company offer the cheapest rates. In Virginia, car insurance rates will increase by $16/month. A speeding ticket typically stays on a driving record for one to three years, depending on your state. If you’ve gotten a ticket and a related insurance rate increase, ask about your company’s surcharge schedule. This will reveal how long you can expect to suffer the higher rates. You’ll also lose any good driver discounts you had.
Traffic Violations in Virginia
Traffic tickets can range from something as simple as failing to stop at a stop sign to reckless driving. These violations will add points to your driving record that can raise your auto insurance premiums. Too many points accumulated over a specific time period can also result in the loss of your driving privileges.
You can receive a traffic ticket for the following in Virginia:
- Driving without a license or with a suspended license
- Driving without insurance
- Driving without registration or with a registration that has expired
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Moving violations, such as running a red light, tailgating, etc.
- Reckless driving
- Failure to wear a seat belt or use child car seat restraints
Reckless driving is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor. It is defined as driving 20 mph above the posted limit or driving more than 80 mph, regardless of the posted limit. It can result in six points against your driving record and carries other penalties of a fine up to $2,500, jail time of up to a year, and a license suspension of up to six months.
To increase your chances of a favorable outcome with any traffic violation, it is important to engage the services of a reliable attorney. Woodmere Law, P.L.L.C. has a strong track record of successful results that can be used on your behalf. With thousands of cases under our belt, our criminal defense attorney has what it takes to help you fight your traffic violation in court.
Call our Williamsburg traffic violations attorney at (757) 300-0309 to discuss your case today.