Williamsburg Drug Crimes Defense Lawyer
Virginia Drug Laws
Virginia drug crimes mimic federal guidelines that categorize controlled substances according to how addictive they are and their potential medical use. Thus, Schedule I and II controlled substances are the most serious when it comes to possession, sale, distribution, and trafficking. These include such drugs as heroin, mescaline, LSD, peyote, cocaine, morphine, opium, and codeine. Schedules III, IV, V, and VI are less abusive and addictive and, therefore, incur lesser penalties.
How you are charged in a drug crime will depend on:
- The type of drug found in your possession
- The quantity of drugs found in your possession
- Your previous criminal history, if any
- Other circumstances, such as if minors were involved or drug activity occurred near a school
If you are being investigated for or have been charged with a drug offense in Virginia, you may be facing serious consequences. Depending on the facts and circumstances surrounding your case, your freedom and future could be significantly impacted. Jail or prison time, heavy fines, probation, and a future with a permanent criminal record are all on the line. At such a time, you need strong and trusted legal representation to fight back.
Are Dabs a Felony in Virginia?
In Virginia, dab pens including hash oil, marijuana vape pens, thc oil are all considered a felony. The punishment is up to 10 years in prison, probation, 6 months of license suspension, and a $2,500 fine. If the dab pen is considered a hash oil; which has at least 12% or higher THC, it will be considered a felony.
Contact us for a free initial consultation with our Williamsburg drug crimes lawyer today.
How to Beat a Possession Charge in Virginia
According to Virginia code § 18.2-251, if this is your first offense you are eligible for probation or to have the case dismissed. These options are contingent on accomplishing court ordered sanctions, such as: paid fines, drug counseling, drug tests, community service & a clean criminal record.
Additionally, it is important to recognize the severity of the charges. For example, simple possession for one’s own use would be a less serious offense than possession with the intent to sell or distribute. While other states have legalized recreational marijuana, Virginia has not. A first offense for possession of marijuana is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. Possession of less than half an ounce is charged as a misdemeanor, while any amount above that is charged as a felony with steeper penalties.
You can turn to Woodmere Law, P.L.L.C. for capable legal counsel that can make a significant difference in how your case unfolds, both inside and outside the courtroom. Our Williamsburg drug crimes lawyer has over a decade of legal experience and an aggressive approach to helping anyone facing drug crime allegations. We recommend that you call us to discuss your legal options as early as possible so as to avoid any missteps or complications when dealing with law enforcement or the criminal justice system.
For capable legal support, contact Woodmere Law, P.L.L.C. at (757) 300-0309 to speak with our Williamsburg drug crimes attorney.
He told me exactly what I needed to do in order to receive the best possible outcome on my court date- Anonymous
You can trust this man to go to bat for you when times get hard and uncertain.- Anonymous
Mr. Freeman made me feel much more relaxed about the charge and helped me a lot!- Brooklin
We were very much impressed and very much appreciative to have Mr. Freeman- Anonymous
I highly recommend him!- Anonymous